If you need help accessing our website, call
Skip to main content

Steven B. Abramson, MD

Executive Vice President and Vice Dean for Education, Faculty, Academic Affairs

Steven B. AbramsonDr. Steven B. Abramson, executive vice president and vice dean for education, 教师, academic affairs, is the chair of the Department of Medicine and a professor of medicine and pathology. As vice dean, Dr. Abramson oversees 教师 affairs, including appointments, promotions, tenure issues. Additionally, his office oversees undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate education, continuing medical education, precollege programs, the admissions process, NYU Grossman School of Medicine’s accreditation.

Dr. Abramson previously served in the Dean’s Office as associate dean for curriculum, vice dean for medical education, associate dean for clinical re搜索. As vice dean, he led the Task Force on Curriculum Reform, which resulted in the implementation of Curriculum for the 21st Century (C21) at NYU Grossman School of Medicine.

A summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Dartmouth College, Dr. Abramson earned his MD from Harvard Medical School, was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha honor society. He arrived at NYU Langone and NYC Health + Hospitals/Bellevue for his internship in 1974 and later served as chief resident in medicine. With training in rheumatology, Dr. Abramson joined the NYU Langone 教师 in 1979 and rose to the rank of professor in 1996.

In addition to his role in medical education, Dr. Abramson has experience in both basic science and clinical re搜索 in the field of inflammation and arthritis, has published more than 200 papers on these and related topics. He is a co-editor of the journal Arthritis & Rheumatism, a former member of the Rheumatology Board of the American Board of Internal Medicine, past president of the Osteoarthritis Re搜索 Society International, former chairman of the Arthritis Advisory Committee of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Dr. Abramson was named by the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) board of directors as the first chair of the ACR–FDA Drug Safety Committee. He is also a current member of the Skeletal Biology Structure and Regeneration Study Section of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).